Leave a comment

In the P!nk

I can’t wait to see P!nk tonight, despite the fact that I’m not a huge fan of her music. With the exception of Raise Your Glass, her wildly predictable lyrics range between two themes of fuck you, I don’t know why I can’t get you out of my head—and often an unhealthy combination of the two. True Love, the song this tour is named after, is a prime example. Why would I pay good money to see her show?
She is one hell of an aerial performance artist. Erik Wahl, an artist whose work I have a great deal of respect for, after being exposed to him as an inspirational keynote speaker at an elearning conference, turned me onto this factor when he tweeted how mesmerized he was by one of her live performances.
While you won’t find P!nk in my cd collection, now or in the future, I certainly appreciate the vivacity of her music when I’m in a club with my friends. Undeniably, she knows how to kick the party up a notch. An act coupling catchy, familiar tunes with a spellbinding physical performance is one I’ll happily part with my money to get in on.
Katy Perry and Lady Gaga fit the same bill. You couldn’t pay me to buy their cd but I would gladly pay to see their show.
I’ll update you after tonight’s show on how well my high expectations were met. No pun intended. Judging by the postings of friends who took in Saturday night’s show, I won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

